Nikki (pixie_mu) wrote in momsofmissouri,
Nikki
pixie_mu
momsofmissouri

newbie

Hi there, I'm Nikki. I'm 25 and I recently moved to St. Louis (back in July). I'm currently staying at home with my 18 month old son and tutoring part time in the evenings. I'm looking to find more children to tutor, otherwise I'm going to have to find a "real" job again...which would mean being underpaid teaching in a child care facility because I don't want to substitute teach and there aren't really any other teaching jobs available right now. (I have a Master's in Education, so I definitely want to be working with children).

I'm not currently homeschooling, but IF I can find a way to stay at home and still make money, then I will homeschool my son. His father is big-time into it. Both of his sisters homeschool their children (as far as I can tell, one is better than the other). I have a degree in Montessori education, so I'm really big into Montessori. I would like to send my son to a Montessori preschool half-days when he gets to be that age. Then I'll also work with him and shift to homeschooling (once again, if we go that route). Otherwise, I'll do everything in my power to get him in a Montessori school for all of his education. Regardless, I follow Montessori's philosophies in the home and we give him as much responsibility as possible. I plan on him learning household chores and how to take care of him self at an early age (he's already working on those tasks now).

I'm not sure what else to say, so I'll leave it at that. I'm glad to have found this group. :)
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic
  • 0 comments